Create Account

Enlarge Text

There are two kinds of Jewish menorahs. The six-branch menorah with a seventh center candleholder is used in Jewish temples. The Hanukkah menorah, used only during the eight-day holiday, has eight branches and a special central candleholder. Each day, candles are lit to represent the day of the holiday--one the first day, two the second day, etc. The single holder in the center is for the special candle that is lit first, then used to light the other candles. Prices for antique Hanukkah menorahs are usually higher than prices for antique temple menorahs.

7-branch menorah















8-branch menorah












Photo: Pook & Pook, Inc. (7-branch menorah), Showplace Antique + Design Center (8-branch menorah)




#1 HANUKIA/menorahrozatyler 2013-11-16 13:52
I found an eight branch menorah that is 12 in tall, the candles are sitting on top of a straight narrow padestal under that is a bird who's wings support the padastal in three places. The base has four cornstalk designs. copyright MMA-IM. PLEASE HELP

Login to leave a comment.

Join The Discussion is pleased to share your comments. Your postings may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in our print publications. We encourage a variety of opinions, but ask that you refrain from profanity and hate speech. To post comments, you must be a registered user of Please remember that your username will appear with any comments you post.

Get The Latest Collecting News Every Week for FREE!

Enter your email below to receive Kovels Komments for the latest antiques & collectibles news, answers to readers questions, marks and tips. In your inbox every Wednesday.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Please refer to our Privacy Policy or Contact us for more information.
Kovels Premium